List of All Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in India

The Supreme Court was inaugurated in India 28 Jan 1950. In India Supreme Court is in New Delhi. The Supreme Court in India 1 Chief Justice and consists of 30 judges this total are 31 judges.

India’s Supreme Court of first Justice Hiralal J.Kania. India’s high court’s first female chief justice was Meera Sahib Fatima Biwi. Justice Y.V. Chandrachud is the longest serving Chief Justice .At present, 45th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court are Deepak Mishra whose appointment took place on August 28, 2017.

Qualifications for appointment of Chief Justice and Judges of the Supreme court in India

  • A citizen of India.
  • Has been a High Court judge for at least 5 years
  • Has been a High Advocate of a High Court for at least 10 year.
  • The Chief Justice of India is appointed by the President of India in Supreme Court. [Art. 28]
  • The Supreme Court Judges in India are appointed by the President on the advice of his Council of Ministers.

The Chief Justice of India will retire on completion of 65 years of age. After retirement a judge of the Supreme Court cannot plead or act in any Court or before any authority within the territory of India [Ref: Art.124 (7)]

List of All Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in India






Name of Chief Justice

                   Period of office  





Appointed by the President of  India


Period From


Period  To
1  HeeraLal J. Kania 26- Jan-1950 6- Nov-1951 Bombay High Court Rajendra Prasad
2 M.Patanjali Sastri 7- Nov-1951 3-Jan-1954 Madras High Court
3 Mehr Chand Mahajan 4-Jan-1954 22-Dec-1954 Punjab & Haryana High Court
4 Bijan Kumar Mukherjea 23-Dec-1954 31-Jan-1956 Calcutta High Court
5 Sudhi Ranjan Das 01-Feb-1956 30-Sep-1959 Calcutta High Court
6 Bhuvneshwar Prasad Sinha 01-Oct-1959 31-Jan-1964 Patna high Court
7 P.B. Gajendragandkar 01-Feb-1964 15-Mar-1966 Bombay High Court  

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

8 Amal Kumar Sarkar 16-Mar-1966 29-Jun-1966 Calcutta High Court
9 Koka Subba Rao 30-Jun-1966 11-Apr-1967 Madras High Court
10 Kailas Nath Wanchoo 12-Apr-1967 24-Feb-1968 Allahabad High Court
11 Mohammad Hidayatullah 25-Feb-1968 16-Dec-1970 Bombay High Court Zakir Husain
12 Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah 17-Dec-1970 21-Jan-1971 Bombay High Court Varahagiri Venkata Giri
13 Sarv Mittra Sikri 22-Jan-1971 25-Apr-1973 Lahore High Court
14 Ajit Nath Ray 26-Apr-1973 27-Jan-1977 Calcutta High Court
15 Mirza Hameedullah Beg 28-Jan-1977 21-Feb-1978 Allahabad High Court Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
16 Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud 22-Feb-1978 11-July-1985 Bombay High Court Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
17 Prafullachandra Natwarlal Bhagwai 12-Jul-1985 20-Dec-1986 Gujarat High Court  

Giani Zail Singh

18 Raghunandan Swarup Pathak 21-Dec-1986 18-Jun-1989** Allahabad High Court
19 Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah 19-Jun-1989 17-Dec-1989 Karnataka High Court  



Ramaswamy Venkataraman

20 Sabyasachi Mukharji 18-Dec-1989 25-Sep-1990 ** Calcutta High Court
21 Ranganath Misra 26-Sep-1990 24-Nov-1991 Odessa High Court
22 Kamal Narain Singh 25-Nov-1991 12-Dec-1991 Allahabad High Court
23 Madhukar Hiralal Kania 13-Dec-1991 17-Nov-1992 Bombay High Court
24 Lalit Mohan Sharma 18-Nov-1992 11-Feb-1993 Patna High Court  




Shankar Dayal Sharma

25 Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah 12-Feb-1993 24-Oct-1994 Karnataka High Court
26 Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi 25-Oct-1994 24-Mar-1997 Gujarat High Court
27 Jagdish Sharan Verma 25-Mar-1997 17-Jan-1998 Madhya Pradesh High Court
28 Madan Mohan Punchhi 18-Jan-1998 9-Oct-1998 Punjab & Haryana High Court Kocheril Raman Narayanan
29 Adarsh Sein Ananad 10-Oct-1998 31-Oct-2001 Jammu  & Kashmir High Court
30 Sam Piroj Bharucha 01-Nov-2001 05-May-2002 Bombay High Court
31 Bhupinder Nath Kirpal 06-May-2002 07-Nov-2002 Delhi High Court
32 Gopal Ballav Pattanaik 08-Nov-2002 18-Dec-2002 Odessa High Court  







Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

33 V.N.Khare 19-Dec-2002 01-May-2004 Allahabad High Court
34 S.Rajendra Babu 02-May-2004 31-May-2004 Karnataka Allahabad High Court
35 Ramesh Chandra Lahoti 01-June-2004 31-Oct-2005 Madhya Pradesh High Court
36 Yogesh Kumar  Sabharwal 01-Nov-2005 13-Jan-2007 Delhi High Court
37 K.G. Balakrishnan 14-Jan-2007 12-May-2010 Kerala High Court
38 S.H. Kapadia 12-May-2010 28-Sep-2012 Bombay High Court Pratibha Devi Singh Patil
39 Altamas Kabir 29-Sep-2012 18-Jul-2013 Calcutta High Court  







Pranab Mukherjee

40 P.Sathasivam 19-July-2013 26-Apr-2014 Madras High Court
41 Rajendra Mal Lodha 27-Apr-2014 27-Sep-2014 Rajasthan High Court
42 H.L.Dattu 28-Sep-2014 02-Dec-2015 Karnataka High Court
43 T.S. Thakur 03-Dec-205 03-Jan-2017 Jammu  & Kashmir High Court
44 Jagdish Singh Khehar 04-Jan-2017 27-Aug-2017 Punjab & Haryana High Court
45 Dipak Misra 28-Aug-2017 Incumbent Patna High Court Ram Nath Kovind

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>